Fear of a Trans Planet


I mentioned this story about Richard Floyd of Tennessee wanting to force transgender people to use separate dressing rooms in my latest LiveJournal post, and it got me thinking about how much prejudice there is against transgenders and transsexuals, and how little sense it makes. Bill O’Reilly is always speaking out against transsexualism as well. I remember him saying something about how, if a teacher were to get a sex change, parents wouldn’t be able to explain that to their kids. Actually, it sounds like it would be quite easy to explain (“that person was a woman, and is now a man”), but admittedly I don’t have any kids. Still, I don’t think the problem is with the children so much as with the adults who hold on to rigid gender roles like the poles on the subway. With the Floyd story, there’s also a dose of the same kind of thinking that leads to women wearing burqas. It’s the whole idea that, if you see someone of your preferred gender not fully clothed, you apparently have no choice but to jump them right then and there. Actually, most of us realize that this is totally ridiculous, and that rape is still a crime regardless of what someone is (or isn’t) wearing. But people like Representative Floyd apparently think they’re just irresistible to gay or transgendered men. I hate to break this to you, Dick, but you’re not that attractive. Well, okay, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but still.

Note that Floyd isn’t only in favor of segregation, but also in favor of bullying. It’s so nice to see someone standing up for the rights of the oppressors, isn’t it?

Now, from my own perspective, I don’t totally understand the transgender mindset. Sure, I’ve wondered what it’s like to be a woman, but I have to suspect that it wouldn’t be all that much different in most ways. It’s because I don’t think there are really all that many physical differences between the sexes (aside from obvious ones like menstruation, which I must say I’m glad I don’t have to partake in) that I’m not sure I totally buy the idea of being a woman trapped in a man’s body, or vice versa. But really, who am I to say? Even if transgender identification isn’t a biological thing, how is it hurting anyone?

Picture by Mac512K
Honestly, I think it’s amazing that we now have the ability to change a person’s sex. Granted, it’s not as neat as it is in fantasy with Ozma or Tiresias, but its being a possibility at all is impressive. And what’s wrong with it? Is it that God made men to be men and women to be women, and to change that is to go against His divine plan? But if you believe that, do you also believe that God made me physically weak and terrified of confrontation, and hence not really able to fulfill the stereotypical male gender roles anyway? Hey, maybe it’s in God’s plan for some people to get sex changes. How do you know? Personally, I don’t believe in God anyway, but even if you do I don’t see why that makes gender such an important issue. But then, that’s just one of many seemingly illogical viewpoints that people take based on religion. For instance, I would think someone who identified as pro-life would be in favor of cloning, because, well, it’s a way to produce more life. Apparently the opposite is more common, though. I can’t say I understand it.

This entry was posted in Current Events, Gender, Politics, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fear of a Trans Planet

  1. Thank you for your support. It is an identity issue. I did not transition because I wanted to fool straight men into my bed, and humiliate them, but because I could not bear living presenting male, and wanted to. Even though I knew it would be difficult, even though I was insulted in the street, etc. I thought of a colleague with the most extreme MS, no remission at all, and I envied her because she was indubitably female. This is who I am. And we do catalyse people’s issues, but that is their stuff not mine. If they were comfortable in themselves, they would not feel any need to insult me.

  2. halinabq says:

    There are many species of fish (including Nemo) that can spontaneously change their gender, so I guess transsexuality is part of “God’s plan” after all! (Unless maybe all those fish are going to hell.-)

Leave a Reply

