The Game Has Culture References

One thing I was thinking of mentioning in last week’s Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles post was other video games that reference the Turtles, but I figured the post was long enough without that. One game that immediately came to mind was Final Fantasy V, which features a rather sarcastic 700-year-old turtle sage named Ghido.

At one point, he says the line, “You think I sat around seven centuries munching on pizza?”, which I found quite amusing.

This line wasn’t in the original FF5, but added in by the English translator of the Game Boy Advance version. I believe some of the other cultural references were as well. Another one I liked was Gilgamesh’s “It’s morphing time!”, obviously a Power Rangers reference.

Not that I was ever really into the Power Rangers, although my brother was at one point. By then I was getting to the point where I didn’t have so much interest in youth fads, I guess. I’m not saying the show didn’t have a definite cheesy appeal, as TMNT did. But I kind of thought TMNT gave the kids more credit, in that the cartoon acknowledged when the writing was hacky, encouraging you to laugh with it. I never really got that sense from Power Rangers. Sure, I’m one of many people who loved how incredibly cheap the whole thing looked, but I got the impression that wasn’t what we were SUPPOSED to like. But I’ll admit I didn’t watch it as much, so maybe I’m not giving it enough credit.

The Mario games also referenced both of these pop culture phenomena. In Super Mario RPG, your team has to fight the Axem Rangers, an obvious play on the Power Rangers.

Then, in Paper Mario, the Ninjakoopas apparently chose to model themselves after some other turtles who happened to be ninjas.

I guess it stands to reason that talking turtles would appreciate others of their sort, even though the TMNT probably wouldn’t get along too well with the Koopas. There’s actually a Captain SNES comic that reveals that Bowser himself is a fan of the Ninja Turtles, but doesn’t like to admit it because it’s a show about heroes.

This entry was posted in Final Fantasy, Mario, Power Rangers, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Television, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Game Has Culture References

  1. Mario500 says:

    “Then, in Paper Mario, the Ninjakoopas apparently chose to model themselves after some other turtles who happened to be ninjas.”

    The Ninjakoopas (together they were called the Koopa Bros.) from Paper Mario remind me of an episode of “The Adventures of Super Mario Bros. 3.” titled “Sneaky Lying Cheating Giant Ninja Koopas” in which four of the Koopalings were transformed into ninja. The Koopalings were Cheatsy, Bully, Kooky, and Big Mouth, which were the names of Larry, Roy, Ludwig, and Morton in the cartoon series respectively before the latter names became their official names.

    I wish you had not used the word “apparently” in your post, as that word is used too much in broadcasting and writing in general and its constant use serves the unhelpful purpose of expressing doubt about something that appears obvious.

    • Nathan says:

      I remember that episode. I have the series on DVD, actually. There was even a part when Big Mouth/Morton said, “I love being a Koopa!”

      The “apparently” has to do with my habit of writing as if fictional characters are real. It’s obvious that the designers of the game were modeling the Koopa Bros. on the Ninja Turtles, but were the characters themselves aware of it? That said, I probably do use “apparently” too much.

  2. vilajunkie says:

    Actually, Power Rangers (at least the American-made version) WAS supposed to be intentionally hilarious. Only the voice acting and the scenes with the kids outside of their costumes were original to the US version. The other scenes were spliced together from Japan’s “Super Sentai” series, one of the TV shows in the tokusatsu (superheroes, rubber-suit monsters, and giant robots) genre.

    Why else would Fox Kids show a commercial like this?

    • ozaline says:

      Actually there were a number of new battle scenes and villain scenes comissioned for the American version, since it proved to be so popular, basically to help keep continuity with the Lord Zed switch over…

      But for the most part you’re right.

  3. Pingback: Weapons vs. Wishes | VoVatia

Leave a Reply

