God Hates Fyggs

I was rather hoping to have completed Dragon Quest IX before writing this post, but Corvus has been kicking my ass, and I don’t know what’s beyond him. I can still talk about the main part of the story, however, so that’s what I intend to do. In an earlier post, I examined the earliest part of the game, and some the basics in gameplay. This time, I’ll start with pointing out that the first part of the game is quite episodic, and rather moralistic. The goal is to gather the seven fyggs that have fallen to Earth and return them to the Observatory and the World Tree. The fyggs are symbols of the benevolence of mortals, and have magical powers.

In pretty much every place your heroes come to, someone has used a fygg to grant a wish, only to find that the wish has unforeseen consequences. It’s up to you to solve the problem by killing a monster. (Hey, it’s still Dragon Quest.) It gets a bit repetitive, but it’s fun to see all the different settings and characters. Whoever is currently translating the DQ games has a love for puns and jokey names, so we see quite a few of those.

After gathering all the fyggs, the next part of the game involves battling the Gittish Empire, which had terrorized the world centuries earlier with help from the dragon Barbarus. The main villain has brought the inhabitants of the empire back to life to fulfill his goal of destroying humanity, and you have to take them out.

At one point, your hero rides the dragon Greygnarl to do battle with Barbarus, in a cut scene over which the player has no control.

Once you’ve defeated Godwyn of Gitt, ruler of the empire, the main villain takes control of the Realm of the Almighty, transforming it into an evil fortress. And that’s pretty much where I am now.

One thing I’ve noticed about this game is that it has a lot of extras of which I’ve made minimal use. There’s a pot that you can use to fuse items together to create new ones, but I never seem to have all of the necessary ingredients. Also, there’s the ability to change a character’s class, and I haven’t done that at all. So far, I haven’t noticed any occasion when it would have really helped me to have done so. Besides, I think a class change means starting again at the lowest level, which means having to build them up again. When playing DQ7, I found myself changing vocations quite often, but there it told you when you had built up a class to its maximum level. I haven’t seen any indication of such in DQ9. Since the more recent DQ games (including reissues of the older ones) usually have more to do after completing the main quest, perhaps that’s when you can really have fun with the extras.

This entry was posted in Dragon Quest, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God Hates Fyggs

  1. The majority of the content in DQIX is actually the post-game content because then you can really get into dungeon-exploring and sidequests and things, but a lot of it essentially boils down to a massive grindfest, which is why I sort of stopped playing it and went back to casual Pokemon playing. You can revocate all your characters and you can also unlock more classes by completing quests, but each time you change class you start at level 1 again. You can use this as an opportunity to earn more points for the special stat bonuses and abilities though. You also get a unique item for reaching level 100 in each class, at which point you can choose to revocate again and go back to level 1 in that class, which apparently increases your chances of getting better dungeon maps or something so that you can complete getting all the items in the game, but again…it’s basically a massive grindfest. There’s still a lot to do that isn’t just leveling up, but it’s almost too much to do either way. I often find myself disappointed in most modern video games for being too short and not really having much to do beyond the main game itself, but this game definitely goes too far in the other direction.

    • Nathan says:

      Yeah, I have a feeling I’ll take a break from the game after beating the main quest. There are other games I still want to check out, after all.

  2. Pingback: Habeas Corvus | VoVatia

  3. Pingback: Role Control | VoVatia

  4. Pingback: Fullheal the World | VoVatia

  5. Pingback: Love That Leviathan | VoVatia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s