Octorok Music

I’ve long been a fan of the music from video games, so it’s nice to see it getting a certain amount of mainstream approval. The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses is a multimedia show with an orchestra playing selections from various Zelda games. Beth and I attended the show in Philadelphia last night, and the theater was packed. There were a few people in costume, and even more in Zelda-related T-shirts. I’m not sure if that counts as wearing the band’s T-shirt to their own show. It was an impressive performance, with a movie screen showing relevant footage from the games as the orchestra played. The main symphony was four movements, each devoted to a different game: Ocarina of Time, The Wind Waker (the conductor mentioned how she particularly liked this title because the Wind Waker was a baton, and she conducted with a model of the titular item), Twilight Princess, and A Link to the Past. They also played a few medleys before this, and three encores afterwards. Other featured pieces included a collection of dungeon music, Kakariko Village, Gerudo Valley, the Wind Fish’s theme from Link’s Awakening, and a selection of music from Majora’s Mask. One thing that amused me was that footage from Link’s Awakening included a Shyguy, and I actually heard people questioning this. Apparently the game actually calls them Mask Mimics. I think it was a pretty good collection of music, definitely representing Ocarina more heavily than anything else, but that WAS an incredibly popular game. There were some notable omissions, though. Beth is a fan of the Oracle games, which they didn’t feature at all. Really, the handheld system games were generally neglected, aside from a little bit of Link’s Awakening. That’s a minor complaint, however. If you are a fan of the Zelda games and can afford it, I’d definitely recommend checking this out.

This entry was posted in Concerts, Music, Video Games, Zelda and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Octorok Music

  1. Pingback: Light Warriors and Music | VoVatia

  2. Pingback: Kondo’s Kompositions | VoVatia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s