Light Warriors and Music


Orchestral performances of video game music have become more of a thing recently, and I say it’s about time. Beth and I saw the Symphony of the Goddesses, featuring Legend of Zelda music, a few years back. Last night, I went alone to Distant Worlds, a performance of music from the Final Fantasy series. It was at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center in Newark, and since there was nowhere to land an airship, I had to take the PATH train. (Sorry, that’s just a bit of corny FF-related humor for you.) It was a packed house, and there had been another show earlier that day. I was hoping to see some people in costume, but all I noticed were some Moogle headbands. Someone on the Facebook event page mentioned that she originally wanted to wear a Celes dress, but it ended up being too cold.

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I consider myself a fan of the FF series, but I haven’t actually played any of them since FF7. I would like to, but I don’t own the proper consoles, and it’s not really a high priority for me just now. The show was a good mix of music from different games, although I do wish they’d done the opera from FF6 like they did at the previous one. Oh, well. Stuff they did play included the love theme from FF4, a medley of FF6 character themes, and Aerith’s theme from FF7. Nobuo Uematsu, the composer for the first ten games in the series, came out to play organ for FF6’s World of Ruin theme. Female vocalists sang a few of the songs from later games, and an acoustic guitar featured in “Vamo alla’ Flamenco” from FF9. For the encore, the audience joined in on vocals for “One Winged Angel,” Sephiroth’s battle theme from FF7; and the final number was a medley of Chocobo themes.

After the concert, I waited in line for a long time for some kind of souvenirs, and most of them were sold out by the time I got there (something that never seems to happen in stores in the games). I ended up purchasing a packet of postcards, which I haven’t actually unwrapped to look at yet. Then I had to wait for the PATH and the subway, not actually getting home until 2 AM. Beth was worried about me, and I really should have sent her a message, but I didn’t even realize it had gotten that late.

This entry was posted in Concerts, Final Fantasy, Music, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Light Warriors and Music

  1. Pingback: Kondo’s Kompositions | VoVatia

Leave a Reply

