Any Sport in a Storm


Does it give me some kind of nerd credit that I watched Star Trek IV instead of the Superbowl? Actually, I’m not sure nerd credit is something I really want, since it’s become obvious in recent years just how petty and belligerent some nerds can be. I think it’s also more of a thing these days for nerds to enjoy sports. I mean, what could be geekier than analyzing sports statistics? And yes, I can’t make much sense of football talk, but I’d be the same way if someone tried to talk to me about, say, engineering. And I’m keen on the fantasy genre, but never got into Game of Thrones, so that’s sort of the same. With sports, though, it’s just such a pervasive cultural thing that it can be a bit embarrassing to admit that you’re not into them. It’s perhaps more like admitting I’m an atheist; I’m not ashamed of it, but I don’t know how people will react. Religion and sports are both mainstream, and both can lead to anger and violence. But it’s not like I have a problem with people watching sports, although I DO wish they wouldn’t preempt television I want to watch. It’s just a part of our culture that I don’t really understand.

Even that isn’t entirely true; I get why sports are engaging for some people. I just don’t share that excitement.

But then, I do like board games, and I don’t think I’d want to sit through a broadcast of people playing one of them either. I’ve watched documentaries ABOUT Monopoly and Scrabble tournaments, but I don’t think just watching such a tournament would hold my interest for very long.

I DO tend to enjoy watching people play video games, and I sometimes get emotionally involved the same way people do with sports. I’m not entirely sure why that is. Maybe it’s because video games tend to have more variety. I might like football more if the terrain changed with each new quarter or something. As to whether athletes are overpaid, I’d say yes in the grand scheme of things. If you look at it another way, though, sports are a huge industry making a lot of people rich, so it’s only fair that the players are included in this. It’s not like we can make the NFL or whoever give the majority of their proceeds to the poor. And really, while individual athletes certainly annoy me at times, I’m much more concerned about business executives making too much money, as they obtain their money by stepping all over the working class.

This entry was posted in Capitalism, Economics, Games, Introspection, Religion, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

