The Tigers Come at Night

Tiger Honor, by Yoon Ha Lee – Considering how quickly some of these Rick Riordan Presents books come out, it’s a little weird, but understandable, that it took so long for Dragon Pearl to get a sequel. This one focuses on a different protagonist, Sebin, a young, non-binary member of the Tiger Clan, who can transform into…well, tigers. They find out they’ve been accepted to the Space Forces at the same time as that their uncle, Hwan, has turned traitor. The clan matriarch insists that Hwan couldn’t have done anything wrong, and when he tries to recruit Sebin to take over a ship, they are inclined to trust him. Min, the hero of the previous book, appears here as someone Sebin initially doesn’t trust.

The Fallen Hero, by Katie Zhao – This one continues where The Dragon Warrior left off. Faryn and her allies in the New Order want to recruit Sun Wukong to help them fight the Jade Emperor. She reluctantly joins forces with Ashley and Jordan Liao to enter the underworld (by way of a Panda Express) and find the Monkey King’s legendary weapon, the Ruyi Jingu Bang. Faryn also finds out that there might be a way to restore her amnesiac father’s memory, but she needs the cooperation of her brother Alex, who has joined the Emperor. More characters from Chinese mythology show up in this one, including the Bull Demon King and Meng Po, the Lady of Forgetfulness. Ancestral spirits also play a significant role.

Once Broken Faith, by Seanan McGuire – The tenth of the October Daye books has Toby attending a conclave hosted by the High King of Queen of the American fairies to determine whether the newfound cure for elf-shot, a poison that puts someone to sleep for years, should be made legal. A few people are murdered at the conclave, so Toby has to do her usual detective work to find out who’s responsible. She makes a lot of use of her blood magic in doing so. It’s kind of funny that Toby’s honorary niece has the same name as the wife of John Linnell from They Might Be Giants, but it’s not exactly uncommon. This volume also includes the novella Dreams and Slumbers, told from Queen Arden Windermere’s point of view. She gives her perspective on becoming Queen of the Mists after she’d resigned herself to working retail, and we see more of what Toby’s peers think of her. Arden tries to cure her brother’s elf-shot, only to run into complications and have to consult the Luidaeg. There’s also a map of the fairy territories on the American West Coast.

This entry was posted in Animals, Authors, Book Reviews, Chinese, Families, Korean, Magic, Maps, Mythology, Names, october daye, Rick Riordan, seanan mcguire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Tigers Come at Night

  1. Pingback: Forget That Girl | VoVatia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s